Motherhood, mental illness and beyond

My pain

Today I am angry, I am heartbroken and I am self-pitying. Why? Because after almost a year of bearable pain, the last couple of days have seen me once again reduced to sitting or lying very carefully, walking very slowly while leaning heavily on my stick and trying not to sneeze, cough, laugh or do anything else that will send lightning bolts of pain through my body.

The reason for this sudden degeneration is very simple; on Saturday I bathed the children. That’s it. Usually DH does bathtime because I struggle to but on Saturday I decided that for once I was going to have the fun of doing it. And now I’m paying for it.

This makes me so, so angry. After 18 years of gradually increasing back pain you’d think I’d be resigned to this but no. I want to play with my children properly, getting down on the floor to build farms and railway tracks and roll around with them. I want to be able to sweep them up into my arms without having to steel myself against the pain, I want to run around with them playing football and chase, I want to take them for rambles across the countryside. I want to do normal mum things, I want to live my life without the constantly nagging companion that is pain.

It’s not fair. I know I sound childish and petulant but I don’t care. I don’t want this any more. I have spent more than half my life in constant pain; I had been in pain for 8 years before I had my first MRI scan, it was another 9 before I had a proper diagnosis. I’ve tried osteopathy, acupuncture, all kinds of physiotherapy, pain management clinics, cranio-sacral therapy, experimental therapies, you name it I’ve tried it. Painkillers are either ineffectual or so strong that they make me vomit constantly. My husband and children have never seen me without the spectre of pain and I doubt they ever will.

I know that I am far more fortunate than many, that have much to be thankful for and I am, believe me. But right now none of that matters because I am in pain, emotional as well as the gut-wrenchingly physical. This pain has been wearing me down a little more every day for 18 years and I don’t want it any more.  I don’t want my husband to have to help me dress and get to the bathroom on days where I can barely move, I don’t want my children to have to be careful around me in case they hurt me. I don’t want it and right now I am so furious that I could just scream all this pain and heartache at the universe. Instead I’m typing these words through angry, frustrated tears because I know that there’s nothing I can do to change this. There are no practical treatment options at this time.

And I can’t even have a proper tantrum about it because stamping my foot would hurt too much.

Comments on: "My pain" (4)

  1. I wish I could offer you some hope or comfort, but I know there is nothing I can say. Sending you love instead x

  2. I am so sorry you are in so much pain 😦 I know how horrible it is, how frustrating it is to not even be able to vent properly as it hurts, to want to do ‘normal’ things without pain payback, just sometimes would be ok. hugs to you.

  3. I do pray that there will be comfort for you so that you can do all those things a mother wants to do for her family. I have DDD and have had days of pure pain because making the slightest wrong move can render me helpless. But, I have had injections that have really made the difference although they are short lived. I wish for you healing and pain free days. XO

  4. I could have written this 😦 I’m generally okay as long as I don’t try and do the ‘normal’ stuff like messing with my kiddies, picking up things etc. I ‘forget’ and wham it pays me back. I’m sorry that you’re blighted by this too.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

