Motherhood, mental illness and beyond

As I write this Twitter is getting hysterical over vague rumours that Kate Middleton, the Duchess of Cambridge, is in labour. (If you’ve been living under a rock for the last few years she’s the woman married to Prince William). Now, I’m not getting into the monarchy vs republic debate. This post is about the fact that a woman is heavily pregnant with her first child and is unable to so much as twitch without a full-page tabloid spread speculating on the reason why.

I remember very clearly those days and weeks before I had my first child. It was unbearably hot, I couldn’t get comfortable anywhere and I was both impatient and terrified about labour. I knew what to expect in terms of the actual process of course, but every woman experiences labour and birth differently. Some breeze through it without any pain relief at all while others tell of agony beyond endurance; I had no idea which kind I was going to be. Neither does Kate Middleton. This should be a special time for her and her husband, their last few days and weeks as a duo rather than a family. But no.

The media and internet is rife with speculation about the baby’s sex, names, whether or not Kate will breastfeed, whether the couple will opt for cloth nappies, whether they’ll employ a nanny, whether she’ll have a waterbirth, a hypnobirth or a hanging-upside-down birth (ok, I made that one up), what kind of parenting practices they’ll follow – it’s endless. Add to that the mountains of celebratory tat merchandise and it’s far worse than any new parent’s nightmare.

In my experience most new parents want privacy, peace and quiet, and time to adapt to what just happened and work out which way up the baby goes. The first few weeks can be hard enough if you have intrusive friends and family who won’t leave you alone – imagine how stressful it will be for Kate and her husband with the majority of the world’s press breathing down their necks.

Personally I’m not interested in this baby beyond hoping that it is born safe and healthy, just as I hope for all babies and parents-to-be. But the level of obsession displayed in recent weeks is utterly absurd and to be honest I’m finding it quite disturbing. Please can we leave this couple in peace? Please can people allow this woman to labour and give birth to her child with privacy and dignity, as any woman should have the right to expect?

And please, pretty please with cherries on top, no more commemorative junk!

Comments on: "Is there going to be a royal baby? I hadn’t heard…" (1)

  1. It must be so bizarre having a whole nation talking about whether you’ve gone into labour.

    I was absolutely adamant that no-one was to know I was in labour until the actual giving birth bit was imminent. I’m not sure at what point the OH must have ended up making a few phonecalls to very close family. But no-one else knew until it was over. I’d read lots of stories about labour starting and then the sort of excitement and pressure stalling it. I did not want that pressure. It was me, the OH and the friend that we had arranged would take me to hospital that knew what was going on.

    With the cameras everywhere and the news all over it I don’t know how Kate will escape that feeling of pressure that I was so worried about, but I hope she can.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

