Motherhood, mental illness and beyond

DH and I don’t really do Valentine’s Day. We’re both quite soppy romantic but share a strong dislike of being told when that romanticism should manifest, so we tend to ignore all the hype and hooha. Which is just as well really, as February 14th is when I will be seen by a psychiatrist for the first time in my life.

I have mixed feelings about this. Part of me feels quite positive – I know that this is a step forward, and that this is the first step towards a diagnosis and/or treatment. But part of me feels nervous, apprehensive, exposed. I will have to be completely honest with a total stranger about my worst moments and thoughts. What if he thinks it’s something really scary? What if he thinks it’s nothing and sends me away? I honestly don’t know which would be worse.

So there we have it – in just over a fortnight I will know one way or the other, I will know which path my life is going to take.

Comments on: "Valentine’s Day could be interesting this year" (14)

  1. All you can do is be honest, be you and have faith in yourself. It will all work out mate. Honesty is the first step in this crazy dance (pun intended).
    Heart you.
    x

  2. Claire Sutton-Abbott said:

    Worry not. They aren’t that scary, honest! At least, my last few weren’t! :-p And then you’ll have either a road map for sorting yourself out, or a free rein to enjoy your craziness! xx

  3. Just remember that it’s only an opinion, so if you disagree with the psychiatrist then tell him – a good one will have an open-mind.

  4. Candi Nook said:

    I agree with the last comment (a good psychiatrist will have an open mind) – and just remember that the psychiatrist is providing a service. Whatever their opinion, decisions about treatment are yours alone. Good luck!
    (@candinook on Twitter)

  5. Thank you, thatโ€™s reassuring. I think I need to do some research on what psychiatrists do and what to expect. Too many misconceptions I think!

  6. Be open-minded yourself, give it time, and don’t be afraid to change doctors if you don’t feel it’s working. I’m writing a blog about my experiences with the five psychiatrists I’ve seen over the last five years – good and bad. Generally, they are there to help you, and I’m sure it won’t be as bad as you think ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I suggest you make a list of concerns, symptoms, things that bother you. Things you want to talk about. When you have your visit, if nervous you may forget some of them. Oh, bring the list.

    Be calm, don’t hold things back, answer honestly, you are not being judged in any way. We don’t come with a diagnostic port, so what you tell him/her is what they will have to work with. They are on your side, ready to help. What you put into a visit is what you get back, many will sit quietly and mind reading is harder then. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

